Today’s a Moon Day. I Don’t Have to go to Work, Right?

Beach Gravity

Beach Gravity

For those of you unfamiliar with the ins and outs, or should I say ups and downs, of a Mysore Ashtanga yoga practice, we don’t have class whenever there is a full moon or a new moon.  Since we practice every day but Saturday, these bi-monthly moon days are a pleasant break from setting the alarm to get to the studio by 6am.

This morning I was convinced that since it was a moon day, I didn’t have to go to work.  Nice try, huh?  Then I realized that if I’m still lucky enough to be doing this practice as of February 6, 2020, I actually COULD take off every moon day.  On that date in 2020, my work vacation time will increase to 8 hours of leave every pay period – and there’s a new or full moon in every pay period!  Sounds like a good long-term goal, but in the meantime, I guess I better keep showing up to work on moon days if I want to even have a job in 2020.

And also in the meantime, I thought I better at least figure out why we get these moon days off.  Practically every search took me back to a description by Tim Miller (that I’m absolutely rewording) about us earthlings being mostly full of H2O (vs. BS like I thought) and so, like the ocean tides, we are gravitationally pushed or pulled by the lunar phases.  Full moons give us Richard-Simmons-on-acid energy and new moons give us sitting-on-the-front-porch-in-a-rocking-chair-in-90-degree-Mississippi-humidity-without-a-mint-julep energy.  So according to Tim, we don’t practice on moon days “…to recognize and honor the rhythms of nature…” including our own.

Still others take the reasoning further to say that you can more easily hurt yourself by practicing yoga on these days because you either have too much energy or not enough.  If that’s the case, then this waning crone is pretty much always one day shy of a new moon (not to be confused with “a few cards short of a full deck”).  I’m thankful that I’ve not damaged one of my own limbs let alone one of yoga’s eight…on second thought, I’ve probably done both.

Today’s moon day timing couldn’t have been more perfect.  After losing an hour of sleep to the time change, we activated our conclave jamming devices and slept in.  Oh, and I did my usual moon day eve routine of having a few adult beverages – can’t be Tipsy Yogi without an occasional toddy.

English: Richard Simmons attending the AARP's ...

3 thoughts on “Today’s a Moon Day. I Don’t Have to go to Work, Right?

  1. ah, love moon day, but do not like the other monthly female day(s) where energy is low and a practice not the smartest thing to do. There’s only one thing to do, go with the flow:-)

Whatcha Thinkin'?

