Porch Sitting (and drinking) – I Love You Mom!

coffee on the upper deck in honor of mom

coffee on the upper deck in honor of mom

I’m sitting on the porch in my pajamas drinking coffee. This is in honor of what mom and I do when we’re together.  Whoever wakes up first gets the coffee maker going and when the aroma hits the nostrils of the other, we find each other in the kitchen, whisper “good morning; how did you sleep?” and groggily tiptoe to a deck chair.  Don’t tell mom, but I usually haven’t even brushed my teeth before all of this happens.

I can’t actually do this with my mom today, since she is 750 miles away, but I can pretend she is here.  And perhaps later today I will again make believe she is here.  I’ll open a 750 ML bottle of wine and toast her organic, bio-dynamic vintage blend of love, support, patience and humor.

Comerica Park Suite 245 - home of mother's day 2014

Comerica Park Suite 245 – home of mother’s day 2014

And in the meantime, my middle sis is giving mom the royal treatment she deserves.  She’ll be chauffeured to Comerica Park where she’ll watch Robbie Ray and the Detroit Tigers beat the Minnesota Twins to keep their number 1 standing in the AL Central Division.  And she won’t even have to sit in a bleacher seat – she’ll get all the luxuries of my sister’s company suite.  Hey Sis, buy mom an imperial beer for me today – I’m good for the $27.00 it will no doubt cost!

Comerica Park Suite Sweet and Salty = Pricey

Comerica Park Suite + Sweet and Salty = Pricey

Mom, I’m looking forward to drinking coffee and wine with you next month – in person.  It’ll be so close to Father’s day that we should ask Dad to join us on the porch Adirondack chairs – he can bring his cup of tea and grape juice.

bird watching with mom on Hilton Head Island's Newhall Audubon Nature Preserve

bird watching with mom on Hilton Head Island’s Newhall Audubon Nature Preserve

2 thoughts on “Porch Sitting (and drinking) – I Love You Mom!

  1. I see that the Sea Rock Inn has not only a coffee maker in each cottage, but a complimentary bottle of wine so we’re set for porch sitting morning AND evening! xoxoxo

Whatcha Thinkin'?

