NaNoWriMo 2014 – They Come in Threes – POST 100

NaNo

National Novel Writing Month – November 2014

It’s not exactly the way I envisioned writing the novel that’s been bubbling up in me. But it has gotten me up at 4am every weekday morning since November 3rd and has resulted in 20,000 more words toward a work of fiction that I didn’t have ten days ago.  I’m averaging 2000 words, while wrapped up in a blanket on the couch with the Mac in my lap, in the one hour before I bundle up for my Ashtanga Yoga Class – all while Doc B meditates for that same hour.  ButterBean the cat just rolls over in bed when the alarm goes off at 3:55 am.  He stares at us like we’re freaks, wondering what type of humans get up this early.

Why are you awake at 4 in the friggin' morning'?

Why are you awake at 4 in the friggin’ morning’?

National Novel Writing Month, or NaNoWriMo, is a way to make yourself write 50,000 words during the month of November.  Their non-profit slogan is “Thirty days and nights of literary abandon! No plot? No problem!”

One of my writer buddies, who happens to also be one of my birthday twins (Gale), first mentioned NaNoWriMo to me last year when I had the interest but not the gumption.  So I let it fester and boil up for a year (ew! gross!) and here I am, on day ten of 30, and almost half way done with the required word count.

The hardest part so far has been the idea that perfection (quality) is out the window and word count (quantity) is, well, what counts.  My story is all over the place but I do have words on the page and an outline, or story line, that is starting to appear. And the recommendation is that you do just that: write in streams of consciousness, with or without an outline and without stopping or using the backspace key…oh, and edit later.

Wanna help me write a compelling, perhaps sizzling, but for sure intriguing, “back page” description of my novel?  I’m taking all ideas, possible book titles, first sentences/paragraphs and summary blurbs.  You can count on a bold print acknowledgement if your idea is selected (oh, and if the book ever gets published!)  Here is the gist (even Doc B. doesn’t know this yet so have at it):

Husband and wife marry after college graduation with the engagement night agreement of saving their asses off until they can both retire comfortably.  The husband’s retirement plan is to join the Peace Corps for the two year stint he has just reluctantly waved off (upon marriage and law school graduation when he receives an offer he can’t refuse from an employer).  The wife’s retirement plan is to keep the home fires burning until her hubby returns from Peace Corps service and they can pick up where they left off and continue whatever else landed on their bucket list during their “work to retire years”.

After 25 years of saving, the retirement, and Peace Corp, plan is in motion.  But just before departing for his South American assignment, the husband unexpectedly dies.  And because deaths often come in threes, the wife will soon experience two more losses.  All three of the deaths result in the wife coming into more money than she needs.  So the wife and her best friend set out on a new retirement plan – one of  gifting away the extras (and finishing the bucket list?).

Bring on the ideas, book titles (They Come in Threes?) and suggestions!  I’m here to listen (and to finish typing my 50,000 words).

And in celebration, and anticipation, of spewing out all of those words, I’m treating myself to a trip to Miami with my baby sis.  An excellent reward that I’m sure isn’t offered by the NaNoWriMo staff!  And in the meantime, I’m turning up my favorite Tangerine Dream writing music and the (word) countdown (or up?) is on.

Cheers fellow yogis, bloggers, NaNo’s (and Miami art deco lovers)!

4 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo 2014 – They Come in Threes – POST 100

    • oh, you’ll be in it for sure, or at least some of your traits will be! you’ll have to figure out which ones are yours and which ones are mine (though they are VERY similar – like mother like daughter!)

  1. the best laid plan, the gifts of retirement, How Not to Retire (perhaps narrated by the dead husband), three and counting (she hopes they only come in threes – maybe it could become a thriller), Plan B. I like Plan B… good story carrie o…keep on.

Whatcha Thinkin'?

